Student fear of Internet

I can not figure it out for sure, but I have a number of students who are afraid to use the Internet for their 20th Century President Projects. I know they utilize the Internet for socializing, I see them on the ‘net looking up stuff during study halls. I have stressed that I am not taking points off for having trouble with the technology and offered full help in working with new issues that arise from the technology. Yet, I have a group that runs when asked to use the net for something besides surfing. Actually, adding to the class wikispace is easier than the other type of projects they could choose from. I have given them the option of anonymity or first name listing for credit. I have tried to make the experience workable for them, but there is still a good bit of resistance. I wish I could find a better way to motivate them than just force them to participate with the technology. I do understand that it is not about the technology, it is about the lesson, however I want them to become familiar with the tools they will more than likely be using in life in their future. It is an issue to keep working at defeating.

One thought on “Student fear of Internet

  1. I’m glad it’s not only me finding students who simply don’t wish to be online. My seniors asked me what podcasts were… (well, all but one, and he wanted to vodcast the assignment instead) Sometimes I feel as if I had two heads, and both were speaking in a foreign language

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *