iPod Project: Sign in & out Update

After about 2 weeks of use, and not continuous due to my schedule, we are down to about 5 minutes to sign the iPods out and another 5 minutes to sign them back in. This time has decrease dramatically with us getting used to the system. I hand them out in a linear fashion, I just run down the list of students from 1 to 25, calling out their names, the iPod number, and the students double check the number as they initial the sign out form.

To sign them back in, if I get a bit distracted, imagine that, the students remind me that we are under 10 minutes remaining in class. I have them start logging off, and as they are ready they come back to my desk and turn them in. I again call out their name and iPod number as they turn in the equipment. They again initial by their iPod number to state that they turned in the correct iPod.

If I did not have hall duty, we could start the process sooner, but I stand right outside of my door and get started as soon as the bell rings. Still, using 10 minutes out of a 40 minute class for administrative stuff is a lot of time, but until we convert to block scheduling, it is what I have to work with.

I hope to start having the students take quizzes using the iPods shortly, but that is another post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *